During the summer of lockdowns, my daughter was able to work from home and moved in with me and my partner. It was her birthday and we were just sitting there watching television when he burst into the room and shouted at me: “You’re a fucking, lying, nasty, cheeky little cunt!” 

That was when my eldest daughter said she had witnessed too much of his awful behaviour towards me to allow it to continue. She said his behaviour had been atrocious and she wanted me to escape from him and live with her for a while. I was used to his behaviour though, so it didn’t shock me, but she was horrified. 

I have a tiny dog named Twiglet and she is still very defensive of me. She follows me everywhere and growls when anyone comes near me. That’s because he was always coming up to me in a threatening manner and she’s still traumatised by it. How sad, to make a tiny 2lb chihuahua feel so bad that she still thinks she has to protect me (she’s 10 years old now). Witnessing this also highlighted to my daughter how bad the situation had gotten.

I don’t know why he called me those names. He said it was because he was drunk but I think it might have had more to do with the fact that when his mum and dad died, neither of whose funerals he bothered to go to. He gave me nothing from his inheritance which didn’t bother me at all at the time. However, I owned half-share in another house and as usual he was probably expecting me to buy him a new car or motorbike out of the proceeds. But my money was always and will always be for my 2 girls. No one else. 

Anyway, one day, my eldest and I went to see an apartment and decided to rent it out together. It took months for me to stop jumping in terror every time she came into the room. 

Next post will be published on Wednesday 15th of November!


One response to “Escape”

  1. I Always taught he was a nasty son of a bitch.every time i saw you with a Black eye or something eals you wear covering up.so sorrie.i didnt make you tell me more.
    So sorrie love .your Uncle Johnnie

    Like

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started